Welcome to Crover House Hotel As we Celebrate Earth Day
Ariel View of Crover House
Virtual View of Crover House
Experience the Delights of Crover House
Crover House has a fascinating history that dates back to the mid-1700's. The lands on which Crover House was first built by the Maxwell family was formerly owned by the O’Rahilly Clan of Breffne.
- 1759 The first part of Crover House was constructed in 1759 by Reverend James Henry Maxwell, Dean of Kilmore. He later became the Bishop of Meath.
- 1867 It has been suggested that the present Crover House was built in 1867 by Henry Maxwell, seventh Baron Farnham, whose wife was Anna Frances, daughter of Lord Le Despencer.
The Maxwell family (and in particular the head of the family, Lord Farnham) were the biggest landowners and political power brokers in Cavan. In fact, they were one of the largest landowners in Ireland.
The house consisted of eight bedrooms and three bathrooms upstairs, two stairways (so that the servants did not have to meet the occupants), a kitchen, sitting room and downstairs bathroom, along with a drawing room. The outbuildings consisted of a stable, piggery and barn, together with cow and potato sheds. By the nineteenth century, the Maxwells owned 28,000 acres of land in Cavan.
44 En-Suite Bedrooms
Romantic Reception Rooms Catering for Small Intimate Wedding Parties or up to 320 Wedding Guests
Golf and Fishing within the Grounds of Crover House, Co. Cavan.